The history of Egilsstaðir and Fljótsdalshérað

Originally Valaskjalf was built by the local authority in 1966 as a community center for the province around Egilsstaðir. Few years later the actual Hotel Valaskjalf was built due to the increasing number of visitors to the district.
The town of Egilsstaðir was established 1947 by Althingi, the Icelandic parliament. The name of the new town, Egilsstaðir, comes from a farm or a ranch which was owned the land where the new town would be erected. At the beginning the number of inhabitants was only 110 people.
In the beginning, Egilsstaðir’s main business was to serve the local farming community. Shortly after the instigation of the Cooperative Society or Kaupfélag Héraðsbúa, the number of inhabitants increased dramatically and many different kind of business‘ in various industry were established. By 1980 the number of residents had increased tenfold and today there are more than 2000 inhabitants.
The nature around Egilsstaðir has been considered one of the most popular of Icelandic scenery with Fljótsdalshérað, characterized by woods as the most famous. The surrounding area harbor among other places the spectacular waterfall Hengifoss, Hallormsstaður (where one of Valaskjalf’s sister hotels are located) and Lagarfljót river the home of the mysterious monster Lagarfljótsormurinn.
One is always amazed how the cultural life in a small community as Egilsstaðir is thriving in a vibrant way as as it is today.